Skip to main content

Jonas, Carl S.



  • Existence: 1913 - 1976


Carl S. Jonas was born in Omaha, Nebraska on May 22, 1913. He was a part-time instructor in the English Department at the Municipal University of Omaha from 1957 until 1966. He published eight novels: Beachhead on the Wind (1945), Jefferson Selleck (1952), Lillian White Deer (1964), The Observatory (1966), Our Revels Now are Ended (1957), Riley McCullough (1954), Snowslide (1950), and The Sputnik Rapist (1973). Many of his stories were set in the fictional Gateway City which resembled Omaha and satirized the lives of business people and academics. He died in Omaha, Nebraska on October 1, 1976. Brother of Emmy Gifford.

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

Carl Jonas Papers

 Collection — Multiple Containers
Identifier: MSS-0023
Scope and Contents The Carl Jonas Papers hold the works of Omaha, Nebraska, novelist Carl S. Jonas. The manuscript portion of the collection includes typed novels and works-in-progress with hand-written corrections, including two versions of a novel entitled The X Family, an incomplete draft of The Deer and the Antelope Play, and three incomplete, untitled novels.New material added 2015-10-29: The papers of Carl Jonas include manuscripts of his...
Dates: 1928-1976