Skip to main content

Parker, Linda



Linda Parker was a librarian for 43 years, the last 21 of which were at the Criss Library at the University of Nebraska at Omaha. She retired in 2013. For some years during the 1990s, she was chair of the Public Services department of the Criss Library, then known as the University Library. At various points during her career, she served as a cataloger, middle manager, reference librarian, and social services subject specialist. She holds a M.A.L.S. from the University of Missouri.

After retirement, she has remained active in the Academic Freedom Coalition of Nebraska, and has served two nonconsecutive terms as AFCON President, in 2010 and 2016. She has also served as AFCON Treasurer in 2017.

She has also remained active in the Nebraska Library Association and was one of the founding members and first chair of the NLA's Intellectual Freedom Round Table.

Found in 2 Collections and/or Records:

Academic Freedom Coalition of Nebraska (AFCON) Records

 Collection — Multiple Containers
Identifier: MSS-0108
Content Description

The records of the Academic Freedom Coalition of Nebraska (AFCON) include meeting minutes, brochures, membership lists, budgets, special projects, events, and other material documenting the organization's activities. The organization has advocated for legislation at the state level as well as advocated for the University of Nebraska to adopt an academic freedom statement for all campuses.

Dates: circa 2010-2017

Linda Parker papers, 1992-2013

 Series — Box Linda Parker series
Scope and Contents The Linda Parker Papers comprise the files, binders, and notebooks of Linda Parker, who was a librarian at the Criss Library at the University of Nebraska at Omaha from about 1992 until 2013. The papers include user needs survey responses; information on user education; the final report of the Forum on the Future of Reference Services (1993); Criss Library Public Services Department planning documents, reports, topics for discussion, and organizational records; and the NebSat grant for...
Dates: 1992-2013