Skip to main content

University of Nebraska at Omaha. Department of Communication


The University of Nebraska at Omaha Department of Communication was formed in 1975 with the merger of the Department of Speech and Department of Journalism. Hugh P. Cowden was the first chair of the Department of Communication. On December 13, 2004, the Department of Communication was upgraded to the School of Communication. On July 1, 2005, the School of Communication merged with the College of Fine arts to form the College of Communication, Fine Arts and Media (CFAM). The School of Communication continues to exist as a subordinate unit of CFAM.

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

Hugh P. Cowdin Papers

Identifier: UNO-0116
Scope and Contents The Hugh P. Cowdin Papers comprises the files of Hugh Cowdin, who served as chair of the Department of Communication at the University of Nebraska at Omaha from 1975 until 1995. The papers include correspondence, memos, meeting notes, committee information, budget summaries, policies, program reviews, space planning information, high school journalism conference information, faculty annual reports, personnel information, and other professional and administrative files. This collection has...
Dates: 1968-1995