Skip to main content

University of Nebraska at Omaha. Department of Athletics


The University of Nebraska at Omaha Department of Athletics (sometimes called the Athletics Department or UNO Athletics) oversees all of the sports teams associated with the University of Nebraska at Omaha, dating back to the university's early history as the University of Omaha (1908-1931) and the Municipal University of Omaha (1931-1968). Specific sports offered by the university have varied over time. As of 2014, women's teams include basketball, cross country/track and field, golf, soccer, softball, swimming/diving, tennis, and volleyball. Men's teams include baseball, basketball, golf, ice hockey, soccer, and tennis. Prior to 2011, men's teams included wrestling and football, both of which were discontinued when UNO Athletics moved from Division II to Division I. Prior to 1939, the Municipal University of Omaha sports teams were known as the Cardinals. From 1939 until 1971 (crossing the Municipal University of Omaha's 1968 merger with the University of Nebraska system to become the University of Nebraska at Omaha), the teams were known as the Indians. After 1950, the Indian mascot was named Ouampi. From 1971 until the present, the teams have been called the Mavericks, with the women's teams known as the Lady Mavs, and the mascot has been a bull. The bull was named Durango circa 1993.

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

UNO Athletics June 2018 Accession, 1949-2011

 Series — Box: 2018-038
Scope and Contents There were a wide variety of materials in this large collection, including plaques, posters, photographs, awards, and athletic equipment/jerseys. The collection was divided into those items that will be photographed and discarded and those items that will be added to the Archives collection. Most of the items to be discarded were wooden plaques honoring individuals or teams. Those items destined to be added to University Archives include: 1) Five first year (1997-98) UNO Hockey...
Dates: 1949-2011